Rotonda de las Personas Ilustres

Rotonda de las Personas Ilustres
The Rotonda de las Personas Ilustres (Roundabout of Distinguished Persons) is a temple that honors those who have exalted the civic, national and human values of Mexico.

In 1872, President Sebastian Lerdo de Tejada ordered to have a section of Panteón Civil de Dolores, in Mexico City, dedicated to Mexicans who have given honor to the country. Within this temple are the mortuary remains of those who have made important contributions and excelled in service of Mexico, within any military, civic or cultural field.

By decree of President Vicente Fox, in 2003 this temple changed its name from Rotonda de los Hombres Ilustres (Roundoubout of Distinguished Men), to Rotonda de las Personas Ilustres (Roundabout of Distinguished Persons).

In 1876, arrived the remains of the first distinguished person to be buried there, military man Pedro Letechipía, of Zacatecas origin, who was honored for fighting against the Empire of Maximilian.

Each tomb and epitaph in the Rotonda was designed to perpetuate its nationalist intent and refer to their political and military participation or their contribution to science and art.

The National General Archive exhibits 104 images of the politicians, musicians, poets, writers, journalists, painters, intellectuals, educators, scientists and military men who currently rest within this niche of Panteón de Dolores.

More than one hundred distinguished men and women rest within this site, standing out, among many others, Amado Nervo, Salvador Díaz Mirón, Mariano Escobedo, Leona Vicario, Andrés Quintana Roo, Octavio Paz, Doctor Atl, David Alfaro Siqueiros, Gabino Barreda, Antonio Caso, Rosario Castellanos, José Clemente Orozco, Carlos Chávez, Dolores del Río, Salvador Díaz Mirón, Virginia Fábregas, Ricardo Flores Magón, Francisco González Bocanegra, Guillermo González Camarena, Agustín Lara, Sebastián Lerdo de Tejada, Ramón López Velarde, Francisco Montes de Oca, Mario Moreno “Cantinflas”, Amado Nervo, Jaime Nunó, Melchor Ocampo, Juan O’Gorman, Diego Rivera, Silvestre Revueltas, Diego Rivera, Francisco Sarabia and Justo Sierra.

Article Produced by the Editorial Team of Explorando México.
Copyright Explorando México. All Rights Reserved.
Photo: Mundo Poesía
Related Articles


Virtually all countries in the world have spirits that embrace as an inherent part of their culture as is the case in Russia with Vodka or the whiskey in Scotland.
Read More>>

The Marinas at Mexico

Many times when we want to spend some time relaxing and get away from the everyday routine, we do not know where to go, so here we bring you one of the best options to spend a good time alone or with family, we mean sea tourism.
Read More>>

Top mexican airports

In a country where tourism is a major revenue is not surprising that the airport industry is growing and the top 15 airports in the country received an average of just over 10% increase in the number of travelers regarding last year.
Read More>>

Subscribe and share

The War of Reform, History of Mexico

Mexico’s War of Reform, also known as the Three Year War, occurred from December 17, 1857 to January 1, 1861. This armed conflict
Read More>>

5th of February, Commemoration of the Constitution’s Promulgation

The 1917 Constitution is the result of a long historical process that started even before the Mexican Revolution. The Political
Read More>>

The Cristero War

The Cristero War is also known as Cristiada. It was an armed struggle between the Government and the Church from 1926 to 1929. If was fought
Read More>>

Miguel Hidalgo, Mexican Independence

Miguel Hidalgo is one of the most recognized characters in the movement for Mexico’s Independence. His full name was Miguel Gregorio
Read More>>

The Most Important Natural Disasters Occurred in Mexico

Climatic change is currently a recurrent topic. The phenomenon is the result of centuries of human activity, mainly the transformation and
Read More>>